top of page

2016 Junior World Track Cycling Championships

With the unconditional support from my family and friends, funding from my campaign and more financial support from my personal sponsors and finally guidance from our junior national team coaches I was able to compete at the 2016 Junior world track cycling championships.

We started our camp in Milton, Ontario on June 2nd only 2 days after the 2016 Canadian Junior Road championships had finished. We would train at the Pan Am track until the 14th and then depart to Aigle, Switzerland. We had a mixture of sessions on the track and then recovery rides on the roads. With the spare time we took advantage and explored a bit. We rode out to many coffee shops in various little villages, took a day trip out to Oakville to find a Lulu lemon to all get matching tank tops. We chose blue, as it would tie into the theme of our national team gear. On our departure day we had an early session in the morning. The coaches said they were using this block as a trials event to secure the riders spots in the TP and other bunch races. After we quickly packed up and were sent to the airport. Fortunately a few of us had booked onto the same flight so I wasn't flying alone. After a long chat with the attendant at our gate I managed to convince them to find us seat together, boy we scored big time (well not upgrade big…..) we managed to sit us all together and put us by the emergency exit which was a big plus; all that extra leg room allowed us to stretch our legs plus having access to the bathroom with out having to climb over your neighbor was a relief.

Once we made it to Aigle we got settled in t the house; it was located on the top of a local mountain in this tiny little town. The house was so big and the ceilings were too low, sorry boys! (they were all too tall) we then departed to the track where we built up all our bikes and headed out for our first spin in Switzerland.

The first few sessions on the track were pretty amazing. Unlike Burnaby, this 200m track was heated, did not have a budget line, and was roller coaster fast. The nerves of the team were high but the excitement over ruled a bit and we just couldn't wait to be racing the best.

I was lucky enough to participate in the TP. I was to be the first person, my first pull was to get the team rolling and to take us the first 2.75/20 laps. After I was designated to pull 2 laps for the rest. After three pulls I tended to get pretty gassed so I had to call 3 (3/4 riders left). By our teams work we managed to secure 4th in qualifications. We managed to hold onto that fourth spot through semi finals and finals. I am very proud to have helped my team achieve 4th place.

The day after TP finished I was given the spot to ride the 2km IP. I was very nervous to say the least. Unfortunately after all the work I had done with TP I had burned maybe too many matches. I was disappointed with my end result, I started as one of the coaches said “a TP start.” I managed to hold it for 7.5 laps, by then I was placed 2nd which would automatically take me to the gold medal round but I couldn't hold that pace and I was over on my splits which brought my down to 10th place.

I am very happy I was given this experience. I now know how I can improve so I can come back strong, fitter and smarter.

I am very happy for my teammates on all their very impressive rides.

Thank you so much to Bear Mountain/Ecoasis for their support, this opportunity would not have been possible with out your support.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page